Is Candy Gluten-Free?

Some candies are gluten-free while others are not. Some may have no gluten-containing ingredients but still not be safe for those with celiac disease due to manufacturing. It’s always best to read labels and check regularly, in case ingredients or facilities have changed. If you’re unsure, contact the manufacturer directly.

Gluten-Free Candy List

Hershey’s keeps an updated list on their website. Their gluten-free candies include:

  • Almond Joy – All Except Almond Joy Pieces Candy
  • Heath
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate kisses
  • Hershey’s milk chocolate bars (1.55oz only)
  • Mounds
  • Payday
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
  • Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo® Minis
  • York Peppermint Patties – All Except York Pieces Candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

Mars Chocolate does not specifically label any of their products gluten-free, but state that they will include any gluten-containing ingredients on their labels. The following Mars candies contain no gluten ingredients on their labels:

  • M&Ms (except pretzel, crispy, and potentially seasonal items)
  • Milky WayCaramel Bars (not the original Milky Way Bar)
  • Snickers Bars
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles)

Nestle calls out a few of their candies as being gluten-free, these include but are not limited to:

  • Butterfinger Bars, fun size
  • Butterfinger Bars, single
  • Goobers
  • Raisinets

They also have candies with no gluten-containing ingredients, but not labeled gluten-free, including:

  • Baby Ruth
  • Sweet Tarts
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Oh-Henry!
  • Sno-caps
  • Pixy Stix

The following Nestle products, among others, are not gluten-free

  • Kit Kat
  • Nerds
  • 100 Grand

Enjoy Life has a range of chocolate bars that are gluten-free including:

  • Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Chocolate Bar
  • Enjoy Life Ricemilk Crunch
  • Enjoy Life Winter Dark Chocolate Minis

Additional gluten-free candies include:

  • Mike and Ike
  • Kerr’s Fiesta Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Jelly Belly Beans
  • Dots
  • Charleston Chew
  • Smarties
  • Skittles
  • Starburst
  • Lifesavers
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Brach’s Candy Corn
  • Red Hot’s
  • Tic Tacs

To learn more about gluten and candy, please watch the recording of our Facebook Live video, where we discuss gluten-free Halloween candy:

Learn more:

  • VeryWellFit has a comprehensive gluten-free candy list, updated January 2019
  • Hershey’s gluten-free candy list
  • For a totally allergy-friendly candy list, check out Allergic Living’s Halloween Guide

Gluten Free Candy List

Sharing is caring!

638shares

  • Pin
  • Share
  • Tweet

Halloween is just around the corner, and while non-food treats are a wonderful safe and all-inclusive way to celebrate, you might also want to find some candies that are safe for your child to eat. I have compiled a list of gluten free candy listed by manufacturer that I based on information provided on the manufacturer websites or that I received via email or on the phone from their customer service department.

**Please remember that ingredient lists can change at any time, so it’s always best to read the ingredient labels and call the manufacturer directly if you’re unsure. Additionally, sometimes the ingredients on a mini version of a candy are processed differently than the regular size version so don’t just assume that a mini version is gluten free without double checking. If you have multiple allergies, Celiac Disease Foundation has a great candy list that breaks many candies down by the top 8 allergens.

Updated October 2018

Black Forest

All of their gummy bears and gummy worms are gluten free.

Enjoy Life Foods

Enjoy Life makes yummy top 8 free and certified gluten free individual chocolate bars all year round, and has a special Halloween Chocolate Minis line that includes Rice Milk Chocolate, Rice Milk Chocolate Crunch, Dark Chocolate and Variety Packs.

Hershey’s

Hershey’s offers a ton of gluten free candy, though most of it also contains dairy and may contain tree nuts and peanuts. I’ve copied below the latest gluten free candy list on their site and here is a link to Hershey’s website that lists their gluten free products.

Almond Joy Candy – All Except Almond Joy Pieces Candy

Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Snack Bars

Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cherry with Pomegranate Flavor and Other Natural Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cranberry with Blackberry Flavor and Other Natural Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Blueberry with Açai Flavor and Other Natural Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai and Blueberry Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Chardonnay Grape and Peach Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji and Raspberry Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Merlot Grape and Black Currant Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Mango and Mangosteen Flavors
Brookside Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Flavor
Brookside Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
Dagoba Products – All

Heath Bars – All

Hershey’s – Baking Bars

Hershey’s Semi Sweet Baking Bar
Hershey’s Unsweetened Baking Bar

Hershey’s and Reese’s – Baking Chips

Heath Milk Chocolate Toffee Bits
Heath Bits O’Brickle
Hershey’s Butterscotch Chips
Hershey’s Cinnamon Baking Chips
Hershey’s Mini Kisses Milk Chocolates
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Chips
Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips
Hershey’s Mint Chocolate Chips
Hershey’s Premier White Chips
Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Baking Chips
Hershey’s Sea Salt Caramel Chips
Hershey’s Special Dark Mildly Sweet Dark Chocolate Chips
Hershey’s Sugar Free Semi-Sweet Baking Chips
Reese’s Peanut Butter Baking Chips
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Minis
Reese’s Pieces Candy
Hershey’s – Cocoa

Hershey’s Cocoa
Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa
Hershey’s Dutch Cocoa
Hershey’s Kisses

Hershey’s Kisses – Hot Cocoa
Hershey’s Hugs Candy
Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
Hershey’s Kisses Filled with Vanilla Crème
Hershey’s Kisses Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle
Hershey’s Kisses Pumpkin Spice Flavored Candies
Hershey’s Kisses Carrot Cake
Hershey’s Kisses Pineapple Coconut
Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates
Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate
Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
Hershey’s Kisses – Candy Cane
Hershey’s Kisses – Kiss Deluxe
Hershey’s Kisses – Espresso
Hershey’s Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate
Hershey’s Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
Hershey’s Giant Kiss (7 oz. only)

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds

Hershey’s Nuggets

Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45oz only)
Hershey’s Milk Duds – All

Hershey’s Special Dark Snack Bars

Hershey’s Spreads – All Except Hershey’s Chocolate Spread with Snacksters Graham Dippers

Hershey’s Syrup

Hershey’s Caramel Syrup
Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup with Calcium
Hershey’s Chocolate Sugar Free Syrup
Hershey’s Sundae Dream Classic Caramel Syrup
Hershey’s Sundae Dream Double Chocolate Syrup
Hershey’s Chocolate Lite Syrup
Hershey’s Simple 5 Chocolate Syrup
Hershey’s Special Dark Syrup
Hershey’s Strawberry Flavored Syrup
Hershey’s Strawberry Flavored Sugar Free Syrup
Hershey’s and Reese’s Toppings

Heath Shell Topping
Hershey’s Hot Fudge Topping
Hershey’s Caramel Topping
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Shell Topping
Hershey’s Special Dark Topping
Reese’s Shell Chocolate & Peanut Butter Topping
Reese’s Peanut Butter Topping
Mounds Bars – All

Payday Candy – All (Includes PayDay Snack Bites)

POPWELL – All

REESE’S:

Reese’s Fast Break Bar
Reese’s Nutrageous Bar
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
Reese’s Unwrapped Mini Minis – Milk Chocolate and White
Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
Reese’s Spreads – All Except Reese’s Spreads with Snacksters Graham Dippers

Rolo® Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo® Minis

Scharffen Berger Products – All Except Scharffen Berger Cocoa Powder

Skor Toffee Bars – All

York Peppermint Patties – All Except York Pieces Candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

Jelly Belly

According to their website, Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free, peanut free, dairy free, fat free and vegetarian friendly. They are also Kosher and made in a peanut free facility.

Mars

Mars makes a lot of popular candies, but I’m not comfortable listing them as gluten free. Their website states that they will “always declare the presence of any of the top 8 allergens whenever they are part of the recipe regardless of the source” and that they also declare these allergens when they could be present in “May Contain” statements. The problem is that barley and rye both contain gluten and they are not considered one of the top 8 allergens, so it’s unclear whether they would be declared. You can read more about their allergen policy here.

Nestle

The following candies have been labeled gluten free and tested at Nestle. There are others including Laffy Taffy, Baby Ruth, Sno-Caps, Wonka Pixy Sticks and Fun Dip that contain no gluten ingredients but HAVE NOT been tested)

Butterfinger Bars (only in fun size, share and snack packs. Bites, minis, cups, and holiday shapes are NOT considered gluten free)

Goobers

Nips

Raisinets

No Whey Chocolate

No Whey Chocolate is free of the top 8 allergens and it’s gluten free, vegan and kosher. It also does not contain artificial flavors or colors. They make some of the cutest holiday themed chocolates I’ve seen and they have a line of Halloween chocolate that includes truffles, mini chocolate bars and lollipops.

Smarties

All Smarties® candy made by Smarties Candy Company made in the United States is gluten‑free, vegan and do not contain milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, and soy. Smarties made in Canada are not gluten free.

Spangler

The following Spangler candies are both gluten free and certified kosher. They are also free from dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, fish, shellfish.

Dum Dums

Marshmallow Circus Peanuts

Saf-t-Pops

Spangler’s Candy Canes

Surf Sweets

Surf Sweets has a ton of gluten free and top 8 free organic candy that my kids like a lot. At Halloween they have a special line of Spooky Shapes and Spooky Spiders gummies as well as lollipops.

Tootsie Rolls

From their website: At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products. Popular tootsie roll candies include:

Andes

Charleston Chew

Charms Blow Pops

Dubble Bubble

Junior Mints

Sugar Daddy

Tootsie Rolls

Tootsie Pops

Wrigley

According to their customer service line (800) 974-4539, the following products have been tested to be below 20 ppm and are labeled gluten free:

Skittles

Starburst Fruit Chews

Starburst GummiBursts – Original and Sour flavors

YumEarth

All of YumEarth’s products are organic, gluten free, dairy free, non GMO, vegan, nut free, fish free, soy free and egg free. They have a special line of Halloween candies that include snack packs of candy corn, gummy fruits, and lollipops.

Do you have questions or know of other gluten free candy? I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.

Sharing is caring!

638shares

  • Pin
  • Share
  • Tweet

Gluten-Free Candy Options You Already Know and Love

Francisco Goncalves

A superior gluten-free dessert isn’t the easiest to come by, at least when it comes to baked goods. There’s a learning curve to using gluten-free flours, so the desserts aren’t too dense or chalky. When you just need a failsafe way to satisfy your sweet tooth on a gluten-free diet, candy is a better way to go. A gluten-free candy isn’t noticeably different from a candy that has gluten in it. And unlike cakes they don’t require a trip to a diet-inclusive bakeshop–plenty of old-school classics are gluten-free. Ready to raid the candy aisle? Here’s how to narrow down your options. (Related: Candy Corn Is America’s Least Favorite Halloween Candy)

How to Find Out What Candy Is Gluten-Free

How you should approach finding out if a candy is gluten-free depends on the severity of your sensitivity or intolerance. If you’re not dealing with a high-stakes health condition, you’ll probably be okay to simply check out the candy’s ingredient list. That might mean passing up on a community candy bowl–some varieties of candy corn, candy canes, etc. are gluten-free, while others aren’t. But as long as you can find an ingredient list and don’t see grain or grain-derived ingredients, you’re good to go. (Not sure what to avoid? Here’s a handy list of sources of gluten from the Celiac Disease Foundation.)

On the other hand, if you have a condition like celiac disease, you’ll want to do a little more digging. Companies don’t always produce their gluten-free candies in dedicated gluten-free facilities, plus they’re often switching up ingredients or varying their recipes by country. With so many variables, it’s best to be extra sure that a candy is gluten-free if you have a severe allergy. You may find that a candy is specifically labeled as gluten-free as an added layer of assurance over just an absence of gluten in its ingredient list. When in doubt, you can also call the company’s customer service to double-check. (Related: The Best (and Worst) Healthy Candy Options, According to Dietitians)

Candy Without Gluten

If you’re ready to stock up on gluten-free candy, we can help get you started. These candies are all gluten-free according to their respective manufacturers. As a reminder, the best way to gauge potential cross-contamination during the manufacturing process is to contact a company directly. (Related: The Best Gluten-Free Snacks Under $5)

  • Almond Joy (except Almond Joy Pieces)
  • Andes Mints
  • Brach’s Naturally Flavored Candy Corn
  • Charleston Chews
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Cry Baby Extra Sour Tears
  • DOTS Gumdrops
  • Dubble Bubble Twist Gum
  • Dum Dums
  • Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews
  • Heath Bars
  • Hershey’s Kisses (milk chocolate, candy cane, kiss deluxe, special dark mildly sweet, espresso, creamy milk chocolate, creamy milk chocolate with almonds, and caramel-, mint-truffle-, and cherry cordial crème-filled)
  • Hershey’s Milk chocolate covered almonds
  • Hershey’s chocolate and chocolate with almonds
  • Hot Tamales (Cinnamon, Fierce Cinnamon, and Tropical Heat)
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
  • Junior Mints
  • Justin’s Peanut Butter Cups and Minis
  • Lindt LINDOR Truffles (White Chocolate, Stracciatella, Cappuccino, and Citrus)
  • Mike and Ikes (Original Fruit and Tropical Typhoon)
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds bars
  • NECCO wafers
  • PayDay
  • Perfect Snacks Peanut Butter Cups
  • Razzles
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter cups (except seasonal shaped)
  • Reese’s Pieces (except Reese’s Pieces Eggs)
  • Rolos (except minis)
  • Skor toffee bars
  • Smarties
  • Sugar Babies
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • York Peppermint Patties (except York pieces, sugar-free, York minis, and York shapes)
  • By Renee Cherry @reneejcherry

Testing popular candy to see if it really is gluten-free

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Testing candy to see if it really is gluten-free

CLEVELAND, Ohio — Whether you’re hanging your stockings by the chimney with care, lighting a menorah or adorning your table with a Kwanzaa set, chances are you’re going to come across some extra candy in December.

With all these of sweet treats making an appearance we wanted to be certain these little indulgences only cause harm to the waistline and not our gluten-free guts. And although most candy is labeled clearly with the appropriate allergen disclaimers, we decided to be sure of it ourselves by testing them with our handy Nima sensor.

Many results were expected but some were surprising. Read below to see what we found.

By Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

3 Musketeers

These little chocolate bars are safe to indulge in, according to our Nima sensor test. When using the Nima, if a food item is gluten-free you’ll know by the smile reading.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Butterfinger Bites

These Butterfinger Bites are gluten-free but be warned… not all Butterfinger varieties are.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Good & Plenty

As expected, these licorice snacks have gluten.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Junior Mints

These minty treats are free of gluten.

Don’t Edit Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

M&M’s

The original milk chocolate M&M’s came back with a smile, meaning they are gluten-free. As a note, not all M&M’s varieties are so make sure you check each type.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Malley’s Caramel Cream Christmas Tree

To be sure a local favorite chocolate company has gluten-free options we also stopped at Malley’s. This caramel cream christmas tree is gluten-free.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Milky Way

Although wheat isn’t listed in the allergy information, Milky Way came back with gluten present. Upon further inspection into the ingredients, malted barley is listed, however without the “contains wheat” disclaimer this could easily be missed. We tested two different Milk Way bars and both came back containing gluten.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Skittles

These fruity candies are free of gluten.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Snickers

Snickers bars do not have gluten listed as an allergen, nor do they have any dangerous ingredients (such as malt), but the first test came back as gluten found. We tested again using another bar and it came back gluten-free. We then did a third test, which once again detected gluten.

Don’t Edit Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Starburst

You’ll have no issue with this candy.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Malley’s Crisped Rice Santa Bar

I wholeheartedly expected this to have gluten, as the crisped rice used has malt in it. However after two Nima sensor tests, it appears to be gluten-free. Still, I am not condoning eating these bars. As can be seen above by the Milky Way results, malt and barely can be dangerous ingredients.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Malley’s Milk Chocolate Bar

This Malley’s solid milk chocolate bar has the gluten-free green light from Nima.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Nerds

Crunchy and tangy, these Nerds are gluten-free too.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Reese’s Tree

Although Reese’s only guarantees its original peanut butter cup is gluten-free (not the seasonal shapes), these trees are free of gluten.

Don’t Edit Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Swedish Fish

These little fish are gluten-free.

Don’t Edit

Hannah Drown, cleveland.com

Whoppers

These malted milk balls have gluten, clearly, as we would expect from a malted milk ball.

Don’t Edit

Good ‘n Plenty Restaurant

This is a large and busy tourist restaurant advertising “authentic PA Dutch Cooking.” I didn’t think they would have GF, but when I called, the girl who answered the phone was herself GF. She said she eats there all the time. She listed a whole line of things to eat there. So we went. The restaurant has 2 ways to eat: “family style” all-you-can-eat with food brought to your table (which you share with strangers) or the “menu dining” like a regular restaurant. We chose the menu option. The waitress knew exactly what GF was, and she gave us a card listing food options–roast turkey, ham, roast pork, fish, sausage were the meats, with a long list of relishes, salads, all vegetables, all fruits, mashed potatoes without gravy…the only disappointment would be no bread and only ice cream for dessert (instead of all the pies). But the ice cream was homemade blackberry. Waitress was very careful to give my husband’s on HIS side, away from us GF people, etc. We felt very safe there. (food was OK fare, ice cream fantastic)

Gluten-Free Doesn’t Mean Fun-Free (& 6 GF Foods That Prove It!)

In the world of better food options, we often define things by what they lack— whether it be allergen-free, gluten-free, or GMO-free. But going gluten-free shouldn’t be seen as a limitation; it should be seen as a lifestyle choice, and today, there are tons of choices available to those adopting a GF diet. We’ve come a long way from the days of “I can’t have that”: There’s a gluten-free option for any meal you can dream up (if you know where to look). Here, we’ve rounded up some of our very favorite gluten-free snacks and foods (including candy from YumEarth, of course— because even gluten-free dining should end with a sweet treat) that will satisfy your cravings and show skeptics that there’s very little you have to say “no” to as an observer of a gluten-free diet. Whether you’re testing the waters of going gluten-free for your health, you’ve recently been diagnosed with celiac disease, or you’re planning on hosting gluten-free guests, these foods will prove to the entire family that going gluten-free doesn’t mean giving up the things you love.

1. Gluten-Free Donuts

That Saturday morning donut routine is tough to quit— but as it turns out, you don’t have to. No Bread is a fantastic resource for gluten-free deserts to make at home, and her Paleo Banana Bread Donuts are as mouth-watering as they are simple to make. Just 9 ingredients and 30 minutes are all that stand between you and some chocolate chip-studded treats— consider those cravings satisfied. https://nobread.com/recipes/paleo-banana-bread-donuts

2. Gluten-Free Pizza

The pizza love is strong, you guys. And frankly, we don’t want to have to adopt any diet where pizza would be off-limits. Luckily, there are plenty of new flour options on the scene that make it easy to whip up a gluten-free pizza crust that tastes like it came from your local pizzeria. This version from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen uses a combination of tapioca flour, coconut flour, and flax meal (all available at your local health food store) to create a dough that smells (and tastes!) as unbelievable as it cooks up— the perfect combination of a flaky exterior and warm, bread-like center. Best of all? Your guests will never guess it’s gluten-free. https://lexiscleankitchen.com/paleo-pizza-crust-bbq-chicken-pizza/

3. Gluten-Free Sushi & Soy Sauce

While the primary ingredients in sushi—fish, rice, and seaweed—are all gluten-free, dining out on sushi can be an unexpected minefield for those with celiac disease because of the variables in soy sauce. But it doesn’t have to be this way— several high-quality soy sauce makers offer 100% soy recipes that are in accordance with strict gluten-free diets. One word you might look for is Tamari, which is traditionally made purely from soybean miso and is low in wheat or wheat-free. Japanese Tamari is thicker than the more common Chinese soy sauces, but it’s a delicious option with extra benefits to boot (thanks, vitamin B3!). Opt for one of these choices—we’ve even brought our own when dining out—and be sure your order doesn’t contain imitation crab (which uses wheat as a binding agent), and you’ll be all set to enjoy your sushi. https://www.verywellfit.com/which-soy-sauce-brands-are-gluten-free-562836

4. Gluten-Free Homemade Fried Chicken

One of the things that you might miss the most when starting a new gluten-free diet? The perfectly crisp coating on a batch of homemade fried chicken. Eliminating traditional wheat flour means a bit of recipe-reconfiguring is necessary, but chef Ari of San Francisco’s legendary Proposition Chicken has a clever fix that makes use of a longer marinating time and a perfectly browned coating made from tapioca flour. https://www.fearlessdining.com/gluten-free-fried-chicken-recipe/

5. Gluten-Free Beer

If you’re looking for something to pair with that fried chicken or pizza, worry not— gluten-free beer is on the scene. A growing number of craft breweries now list gluten-free beverages among their offerings, meaning that even weekend brewery tours are back on the table for the whole crew. CT-based Church Owl Beer’s gluten-free brew is made by a celiac sufferer herself who was moved to begin brewing because of a lack of options on the market at the time— so you know this beer is something special (must be 21 and older). https://glutenfreeconnecticut.com/church-owl-beer-gluten-free-beer-arrived/

6. Gluten-Free Candy

As anyone living with kids knows, candy is king. And trying to nix it from the family pantry is definitely an unpopular decision. But we’ve got good news for youngsters and the young-at-heart alike— YumEarth offers a ton of candy varieties that are totally gluten-free, so you can indulge your sweet tooth without worry. From face-puckering sour twists to classics like lollipops and gummy bears, there are plenty of sweet gluten-free snacks to choose from— perfect for holidays and everyday. https://yumearth.com/products

25.5Kshares

I’m going to keep this intro short and sweet (pun intended).

Halloween is just around the corner and that only means one thing – CANDY (well if you’re a kid at least). But if you’re a parent that has a child that has a gluten sensitivity or Celiacs Disease, trying to find a safe and suitable candy options is quite difficult.

So to make life a little bit easier on Halloween night, here’s a complete listing of all the mainstream candies you are like to get on Halloween.

Gluten Free Halloween Candy List – Ultimate Guide

Here’s our gluten free candy list that’s separated by candy manufacturers. Just note that this is the U.S. only listing only because ingredients and facilities are different in other countries. For example, Smarties is gluten free in the U.S. but isn’t in Canada because their versions include wheat flour. Crazy, right?

Okay, so with that being said, let’s jump straight into the gluten free halloween candy and treat listing. Enjoy!

Hershey’s

Almond Joy (all)

Mounds (all)

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses

Hershey’s Filled Chocolate Kisses (only caramel and cherry cordial creme)

Hershey’s Nuggets (milk chocolate, milk chocolate with almonds, special dark chocolate with almonds, and extra creamy milk chocolate with toffee and almonds)

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. size only)

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45 oz. size only)

Hershey’s Air Delight

Hershey’s Milk Duds

Heath Bars

Payday

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (all except for seasonal shaped items, such as Valentine’s hearts)

Reese’s Pieces (all except for Reese’s Pieces Eggs)

Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate (all except for Minis)

Skor

Skor Toffee Bar

York Peppermint Patties (all except for York Pieces, York Minis and York Shapes)

Farley’s and Sathers Candy Company (Ferrara Candy)

Black Forest Mini Gummy Bears

Little Monsters Fruit Snacks

Brach’s Candy Corn

Brach’s Gummi Candy Corn

Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn

Brach’s Caramel Apple Candy Corn

Brach’s Indian Corn

Brach’s Autumn Mix

Brach’s Assorted Mellowcremes

Brach’s Pumpkin Spice Candy Corn

Brach’s Candy Corn and Nut Mix

Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins

Brach’s MilkMaid Caramels

Jujyfruits

Jujubes

Now and Later Original

Now and Later Mini Bar

Now and Later Soft

Rain-Bio Pops

Super Bubbles

Super Bubble Blast

Trolli Gummi Bears

Trolie Sour Brite Crawlers

Sour Brite Eggs

Troll Big Bold Bears

Trolli Evil Twins

Lemonhead

Chewy Lemonhead and Friends

Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends

Applehead

Grapehead

Cherryhead

Red Hots

Jawbusters

Mars Candy

M&M’s (all except for pretzel-flavored M&M’s and some special flavors with a risk of gluten cross-contamination)

3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)

Milky Way Midnight Bar

Milky Way Caramel Bar

Dove Chocolate products (all flavors except for milk chocolate cinnamon graham & cookies and cream)

Snickers Bars (all flavors)

Munch Nut Bar

Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint)

Cremesavers

Hubba Bubba Gum

Hubba Bubba Bubble Tape

Lifesaver Gummies

Life Saver Big Ring Gummies

Lifesaver Hard Candy

Skittles

Sour Skittles

Skittles Darkside

Starburst

Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn

Baby Ruth

Bit-O-Honey

Butterfinger Bar (original only)

Milk Chocolate

Goobers

Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)

Oh Henry!

Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)

Sno-Caps

Wonka

Wonka Pixy Stix

Fun Dip

Bottlecaps

Sweetarts

Mini Chewy Sweetarts

Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)

Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

Everlasting Gobstopper

Chewy Spress

Tootsie Roll Industries

Tootsie Rolls

Fruit Rolls

Junior Mints

Frooties

Dots

Tropical Dots

Crows

Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries

Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries

Junior Mints

Charleston Chew

Junior Caramels

Tootsie Pops

Tootsie Peppermint Pops

Caramel Apple Pops

Fruit Smoothie Pops

Tropical Stormz Pops

Child’s Play

Charms Blow Pops

Charms Super Blow Pops

Charms Pops

Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops

Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy

Sugar Daddy Pops

Sugar Mama Caramels

Charms Squares

Charms Sour Balls

Charms Candy Carnival

Pops Galore

Andes

Sugar Babies

Impact Confections

Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes

Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy

Warheads Super Sour Spray

Warheads Sour Dippers

Warheads Double Drops

Melster Peanut Butter Kisses

Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow

Welch’s Fruit Snacks

Fruit Snacks (all varieties)

PB and J Snacks

Mondelez International

Sour Patch Kids

Sour Patch Xtreme

Sour Patch Xpolderz

Swedish Fish

Jellybeans (all flavors)

Candy corn

Necco

Necco Wafers

Necco Chocolate Wafers

Candy House Candy Buttons

Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges

Mary Jane

Mary Jane Peanut butter Kisses

Banana Splits Chews

Mint Julep Chews

Haviland Thin Mints

Wintergreen Patty

Nonpareils

Chocolate Stars

Skybar

Just Born

Mike and Ike Berry Blast

Mike and Ike Italian Ice

Mike and Ike Jolly Joes

Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends

Mike and Ike Original Fruits

Mike and Ike Redrageous

Mike and Ike Tangy Twister

Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon

Mike and Ike Zours

Mike and Ike Jelly Beans

Mike and Ike Hot Tamales

Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews

Mike and Ike Mummy Mix and Vampire Variety Treats

Mike and Ike Tropical Heat

Mike and Ike Vampire Variety

Mike and Ike Strawberry Reunion

Original Peeps

Chocolate Creme Peeps Minis

Sour Watermelon Peeps Minis

Strawberry Creme Peeps Minis

Peeps Sweet Lemonade

Flavored Marshmallow Chicks

Peeps Chocolate Mousse Flavored Cats

Peeps Sugar Free Marshmallow Pumpkins

Peeps Marshmallow Ghosts

Vanilla Creme Peeps

Just Born Jelly Beans

Haribo

Alphabetical Letters

Gold-Bears (make sure they aren’t the “juicy” variety)

Happy Cola

Twin Cherries

Peaches

Raspberries

Frogs

Rattle Snakes

Russell Stover Candies

Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Pumpkin

Orange Marshmallow Pumpkin

Caramel Pumpkin

Caramel and Marshmallow Pumpkin

Dark Chocolate and Caramel Pumpkin

Dark Chocolate and Marshmallow Pumpkin

Dark Chocolate and Coconut Cream Pumpkin

Coconut and Almond Pumpkin

Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Cream Pumpkin

Dark Chocolate and Orange Cream

Strawberry Cream

Tic Tac Mints

Tic Tac (all flavors)

Spangler Candy

Dum Dums

Chewy Pops

Circus Peanuts

Saf-T-Pops

Chewy Canes

Candy Canes

Airheads

Regular Airheads

Sour Airheads

Smarties Original

Smarties Gummies

Discover Other Awesome Gluten Free Products & Resources

Ever wondered which sodas, candy, foods, drinks, yogurts, makeups, medicines, and other products were gluten free?

If so, then you absolutely need to cheek out this awesome guide.

to discover Urban Tastebud Pro Life, Health + Food!

Thanks for reading. If you have any other gluten free Halloween candy suggestions, please leave a comment below.

Cheers

25.5Kshares

Oct 26 By Heather ·

Oct. 26, 2013 – I didn’t scour the shelves to make updates to the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List this year. However, I did make updates as I came across new products and reviewed ingredients labels on candy previously listed. Scroll down for the Complete Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List and unsafe halloween candy list. Check out a few of the new ones I recently found:

Starburst’s new Fruit Flavored Candy Corn

Sun Cups Gluten-Free and Peanut-Free Chocolate Candy

Sweet Works Gluten-Free and Nut-Free Candies

Details and links about these items can be found at More Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Information.

October 25, 2012 – You can read the 2010 update below for the details about the organization of the list. The short version is this: The green listing is for candies I believe to be gluten-free and safe to eat. The orange listing is for candies that don’t have gluten ingredients listed, but may have gluten due to cross-contamination or other possible concerns. You may want to avoid candies in the orange listing if you are a celiac and/or are strict about adherence to a gluten-free diet. The red listing is candy that contains gluten and should not be eaten by anyone on a gluten-free diet.

We all want to make the best decisions we can for ourselves and our families. So, as I’ve said in the past: If you find additions or corrections to make to the list, please put them in the comments so that others may benefit from the information and discussion. Thank you, and have a safe and happy Halloween!

Gluten-Free (Safe) Candy and Treats

  • 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate Bar and Fun size (Oct. 2012)
  • Act II Popcorn Balls (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Gummy Eyeballs (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Iced Halloween pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Almond Joy fun size bars “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.”
  • Angry Birds Fruit Gummies and Fruit Snacks “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Baby Ruth bars and fun size
  • Barrels of Candy by Treat Street (Oct. 2010)
  • Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops) (Oct. 2012)
  • Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot (Oct 2012) Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet (Oct. 2011)
  • Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, Screamin’ Strawberry Tattoos (Oct. 2012) Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll-ups, and Mini Rolls – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • Bit•O•Honey (Oct. 2009)
  • Big Blow bubblegum (Oct. 2012)
  • Black Forest Fruit Snacks Little Monsters (Oct. 2012) “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas (Oct. 2010)
  • Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers (Oct. 2010)
  • Bloody Bones candy by Oak Lear – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bloody Skulls candy by Oak Leaf – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bubbly lollipop + gum (Oct. 2009)
  • Butterfinger original bar and fun size (Oct. 2012) “Contains peanut, milk and soy ingredients.”
  • Candy Checkers (made for Target 2009)
  • Caramel Apple Pops (lollipops made by Tootsie Roll) (Oct. 2011)
  • Charleston Chew fun size (Oct. 2011)
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Charms Candy Carnival Package (Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum) (Oct. 2009)
  • Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Chewy Lemonheads and Friends (Oct. 2012)
  • Child’s Play “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum (Oct. 2009)
  • Colombina Fizzy Pops (Oct. 2009)
  • Comix Mix Candy Sticks (Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye) – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts (Oct. 2012)
  • Disney Halloween Candy Mix (jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and candy characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story) “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Dove pieces (Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate) (Oct. 2011)
  • Dots Gumdrops – including Candy Corn Dots (candy corn flavored), Ghost Dots (assorted fruit flavored), and Bat Dots (blood orange flavored) (Oct. 2013)
  • Dubble Bubble bubblegum “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Dum Dums Lollipops (including Shrek Pops-2010) – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Dum Dums Chewy Pops – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix (includes Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli-pops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ferrara Pan Caramels “This product contains milk and soy. This product distributed in a facility where peanuts and tree nuts are used in the production of other products.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix (includes Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots) (Oct. 2012)
  • Florida’s Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford‘s Bugs Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Gummy Body Parts (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Marshmallow Pals (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Fruit Ninja Sour Gummies “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ghoulish Gourmet Popcorn Balls (found at Walmart) “Gluten Free” “Nut Free” Contains soy. (Oct. 2012)
  • Gimbal’s Harvest Mix jelly beans (Oct. 2013)
  • Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies) (Oct. 2013)
  • Gummy Pirate Choppers (Oct. 2009)
  • Haribo Gummi-Bears including original and Gold-Bears minis (Oct. 2012)
  • Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar snack size “Contains almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S Gluten-Free Listing – Be sure to check the unsafe lists below for Hershey’s candy that may contain gluten.
  • Hershey’s Kisses (Candy Corn flavored candy, Caramel, Caramel Apple flavored filling, Milk Chocolate, Chocolate Meltaway, Pumpkin Spice, Hugs, Hugs & Kisses, Cherry Cordial Creme, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark) (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate bars and snack-size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.” (Only the 1.55 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds bars and snack-size bars (Only the 1.45 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hot Tamales – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Humphrey Popcorn Balls – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans
  • Jelly Belly candy corn “Manufactured in a plant that processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy (Oct. 2011)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews (Oct. 2012)
  • Jr. Mints fun size “Milk and eggs may be present. Nut Free, Gluten Free, Peanut Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jujyfruits (Oct. 2009)
  • Kellogg’s Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks (Oct. 2012)
  • Kraft Jet-Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows marshmallows (Oct. 2011)
  • Lemonheads (Oct. 2012)
  • LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet ‘n’ Sour, and Scary Assortment (Oct. 2012)
  • Lightning Bugs gummy candy “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • M&M’s (original, peanut, peanut butter) Check the unsafe lists below for which M&M products to avoid. (Oct. 2012)
  • Mallo Cup (Oct. 2009)
  • Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine) – “Gluten Free.”
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses “Contains peanuts, milk, soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mike and Ike including Original Fruits, Red Rageous, and Zours – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar (Original Milky Way Bars are NOT gluten-free. See the Red Unsafe List below.) Contains milk, egg, and soy. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mentos (Oct. 2012)
  • Mini Sour Dudes Straws (Oct. 2009)
  • Monstaz Pops (jack-o-lantern lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target 2009)
  • Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s list of gluten-free products (Oct. 2012)
  • Necco’s Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses “Contains peanuts and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk, and eggs.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Raisinets (milk chocolate) fun size “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts.”
  • Nik-L-Nip wax bottles with juice
  • Now and Later (Farley’s & Sathers) (Oct. 2011)
  • Operation Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Peanut Butter Cups (Oct. 2009)
  • PayDay peanut caramel bar snack size
  • Peanut M&M’s (Oct. 2012)
  • Pearson’s Bun candy (maple, caramel, and vanilla) (Oct. 2012 – Pearson’s FAQ’s indicate “Gluten Free”)
  • Peeps Jack-o-lanterns, Ghosts and Chocolate Mousse Cats – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • PEZ candy – “PEZ candy is tree nut, peanut and gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Pop Rocks (Oct. 2012)
  • Rain•Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror (Oct. 2009)
  • Raisinets (Oct. 2010)
  • Razzles candy gum
  • Not all Reese’s candy is gluten-free. Seasonal-shaped candies may contain wheat starch, or gluten. Read labels carefully.
  • Reese’s Fast Break candy bars and snack size (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Pieces (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Select Peanut Butter Cremes (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Select Clusters (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Whipps (Oct. 2011)
  • Ring Pop (Oct. 2012)
  • Sixlets – “Gluten Free” “Made in a facility that does not process nuts.” (Oct. 2013) Does contain whey/milk.
  • Skeleton Pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl’d Fruits, and Crazy Core – “Gluten Free”
  • Smarties (this is the small candies sold in rolls, not Nestle’s chocolate candies) – “Contains none of the following: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats and rye), milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy beans.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers original bars, fun size and mini’s – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Almond – Contains milk, soy, almonds, and egg. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Peanut Butter Squared fun size – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Fudge bar mini’s (Oct. 2009)
  • Snickers Dark – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sour Patch Kids candy (Oct. 2012)
  • Spooky Eyes Bubble Gum – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Fruit Chews includes Original, Sour and Sweet, and Tropical – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts – “Gluten Free”
  • Sugar Babies caramel candies – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk. Egg may be present.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sun Cups (including milk chocolate sunflower butter cups, dark chocolate sunflower butter cups, milk chocolate caramel cups, and dark chocolate mint cups) – “Does not contain gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, corn or soy. Our facility is nut and gluten-free. Contains Dairy.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Super Bubble bubble gum (Farley’s & Sathers) – (Oct. 2012)
  • Swedish Fish (Oct. 2012)
  • Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie) (Oct. 2009)
  • Sweet’s Candy Corn Taffy – “This product is Gluten Free. Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Timebomb Jawbreakers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Tootsie Pops (original and miniatures) – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Tootsie Rolls midgies and snack bars – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Transformers Candy Mix (gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks) (Oct. 2009)
  • Trolli Gummy Candy Mix including Classic Bears, Big Bold Bears, and Sour Brite Crawlers (Oct. 2012) *Trolli Sour Frite Crawlers did have a cross-contamination warning on packages in 2010.
  • Wack-O-Wax lips and fangs (Oct. 2010)
  • Warheads Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes (Oct. 2012) *Warheads Sour Twists contain Wheat Flour.
  • Wonka Bottlecaps – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy (Oct. 2009)
  • Wonka Gobstoppers – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Pixy Stix (original and giant) (Oct. 2011)
  • Wonka Laffy Taffy (original, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy, and Ropes) (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Sluggles Gummies – Made on equipment that also processes milk. (Oct. 2012)
  • X-scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • York Peppermint Patties Pumpkins – on Hershey’s Gluten Free List (Oct. 2012)

Use Caution with these treats. (May contain traces of gluten.)

  • AirHeads – On packaging: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.” (Oct. 2011) On Airheads.com FAQs: “Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle does not claim that Airheads are gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Autumn Mix – Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn – Contains milk and soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Apple Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes – Contains soy and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Indian Corn – Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins – “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Sweet and Salty Mix – Contains milk, soy, and peanuts. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Milk Maid Royals Nougats “Manufactured in a facility that also manufactures products containing traces of wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Chuckles Ju Jubes – “Packed on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Harvest Mix and Candy Corn – This product is made by Brach’s. See the Brach’s listings.
  • Flash Pop Ring! – Contains High Maltose Syrup. “This product may contain traces of gluten, soy, peanuts, tree nuts and seed.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate) (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds) There does not appear to be any gluten in the ingredients, nor does the packaging have a statement warning of possible cross-contamination. Hershey’s claims that these have no gluten in them. (2012) There were, however, some readers who commented in 2010 that they had reactions to these. That doesn’t mean these candies do have gluten, but if you are like some other readers, you may experience similar reactions.
  • Hershey’s Mr. Goodbar fun size (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Rolo chocolate covered caramels (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Milk Duds (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Palmer Fright Bites (vampire teeth) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Bag of Boo’s fudge bars – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googly Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” Be very careful with these Palmer candies. I found another package labeled Palmer Trick or Treat Mix that contains barley malt.
  • Russell Stover’s Assorted Chocolates – “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.” (Oct. 2009) Statement on the Russell Stover website: “Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.
  • Spongebob Squarepants Gummy Krabby Patties – “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Trolli gummy candy Sour Frite Crawlers – “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Spooky Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Runts – Contains egg. “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Spree – Contains egg. “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Shockers – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Boo Bag – Packages of SweeTarts, SweeTarts Twist and Mini Chewy SweeTarts were labeled with “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Bottle Caps, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Monster Treats (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Variety Mix – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Zed Candy Skulls and Bones (fruit flavored hard candy) (Oct. 2009) Not sure if these candies are out this year (2010). Last year, there were news reports of recalling this candy due to foreign material being present. To be clear, I saw no indication of them containing gluten.

Unsafe Candy and Treats (Do not eat these if you cannot tolerate gluten in your diet.)

  • 100 Grand – contains barley malt “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, egg, and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Butterfinger Crisp – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Chex Mix – contains wheat (Oct. 2012)
  • Clark Bar Wicked Mix (includes mini Clark, Dark Clark, Clark Coconut and Clark Peanut Butter Crunch) – contains malt flavoring, peanuts, milk, soy, wheat and barley. “Processed in a facility that also processes eggs and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Chewy Mix (includes Caramel Creams, Bit-O-Honey, Slo Poke and Assorted Toffees) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies contain malt extract. Contains milk and peanuts. (Oct. 2010)
  • Goetze’s Caramel Creams – Contains wheat flour, milk, and soy. (Oct. 2010)
  • Good & Plenty – contains wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S gluten-free list
  • Hershey’s Cookies & Creme snack size bars – contains wheat flour “Manufactured on same equipment that processes almonds.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Kisses Cookies and Creme – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s miniatures – contains malt (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Take 5 Bar – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Keebler Gripz Chips Deluxe cookies – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Kit Kat snack size – “Contains milk, wheat, and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Licorice – Almost ALL brands of licorice and licorice flavored candy contain wheat flour.
  • Lindt milk chocolate with smooth filling truffle balls with jack-o-lantern wrapping – contains barley malt powder (Oct. 2010)
  • Milky Way bars, fun size and mini’s – Contains milk, egg, soy, and malted barley. “May contain peanuts.”
  • Mini Oreo packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch bars and fun size – contains barley malt; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat” (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch Crisp – contains wheat flour and barley malt (Oct. 2010) “Contains milk and soy ingredients. May contain peanuts, nuts and wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Googly Eyes – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Monster Munny – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Ghostly Goodies – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Trick or Treat Mix – contains barley malt “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Pepperidge Farm Goldfish cheddar crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Quaker Chewy Fright Night Chocolate Chip granola bars – contains rolled oats, malted barley, whole grain rolled wheat, whole wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Reese’s Sticks wafer bars – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Rice Krispies Treats mini squares – contains malt flavoring (Oct. 2009)
  • Riesen Chocolate Caramels – “Contains milk, wheat, and soybeans. Processed in a facility where peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, and other tree nuts are found.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ritz Bits peanut butter sandwiches – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Snyder’s Pretzel snack sacks – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Stauffer’s Animal Crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Teddy Grahams packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Toad-Ally Snax Popcorn Plus – contains wheat flour and malt “May contain traces of peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Twix fun size – “Contains milk, soybean and wheat products. May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers (twists and rainbow twists) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers Pull-n-Peel Candy – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Utz Halloween Pretzel treats – contains wheat flour and malt syrup (derived from barley) (Oct. 2009)
  • Warheads Sour Twists contain wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • Whoppers – contains barley malt and wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Kazoozles – Contains wheat flour. “Made in a facility that also processes egg. (Oct. 2011)

History of my Halloween Candy List:

Ever since my kids started getting candy from trick-or-treating, I’ve been trying to figure out which candy has gluten and which doesn’t. It was easy in the beginning because they didn’t really get much candy, and I could always just throw it out (or give away to non-celiacs) without them realizing it. Then, I found the list that circulates around the web every year. It’s a list that Melonie Katz and many other parents of celiac children put together. They combined resources to look up ingredients and call companies to get a list of safe and unsafe candies for celiacs. Here is the 2009 GF Candy List .

Then, my kids started having Halloween parties at school, and getting more candy from trick-or-treating. Sometimes, they would get some unusual candies that you only see at Halloween time. They are a little more difficult to look up online. As a result, I just started reading all the packages of candy in stores. I started doing it just casually, out of curiosity. Then, I started to write it down, so I could better remember come Halloween night. Now, I go to several stores (grocery, discount, dollar, etc.) to see what candy our neighbors and classmates might be offering for Halloween treats. Since not everyone is as crazy as me, I thought I would share with you my findings.

Categories : Candy, Product Advisory

Leena Robinson /

Gluten-free diets have become much more than a trend—they’re a way of life for many people. Avoiding this type of protein, which is found in wheat, rye, and barley, is a necessity for people who have an intolerance (Celiac disease) or have a milder form of gluten sensitivity. However, only 1 percent of the population has Celiac disease; just over 5 percent have a gluten sensitivity. And yet an estimated 30 percent of people in North America avoid gluten.

For people with an intolerance or sensitivity, gluten triggers an autoimmune reaction that can lead to nutritional deficiencies, weight loss, fatigue, joint pain, depression, and osteoporosis, to name just a few of the related issues. (These are the symptoms of Celiac disease you shouldn’t ignore.)

But some people without a gluten condition avoid the protein in an effort to control weight while others believe they just feel better when they cut gluten from their diet. (Learn what can happen to your body when you give up gluten.) Whatever reasons you might have, you’ll find this list of gluten-free Halloween candy useful. And for more information, here are 7 conditions that can be mistaken for gluten intolerance.

Chocolatey treats:

Hershey’s Kisses

Price: $19.50 (36 oz bag)

Shop Now

Hershey’s Kisses are a classic candy and the milk chocolate ones are always gluten-free. Their Halloween-themed Kisses are perfect for trick or treating. Many of the filled Kisses are gluten-free too.

via amazon.com

Price: $22.99 (3 lb bag)

Shop Now

Baby Ruth bars are caramelly, chocolatey, nutty and gluten-free. Note that these do contain peanuts, in case you may be entertaining anyone with a nut allergy.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Price: $7.80 (35.6 oz bag)

Shop Now

Both the full size and mini size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are gluten-free, but the seasonal shapes aren’t. If you’re avoiding gluten, you’ll want to skip the pumpkin-shaped Halloween treats from Reese’s or risk digestive issues. Here are some Halloween treats nutritionists love.

Price: $6.99 (10.2 oz bag)

Shop Now

Gluten-free toffee lovers will be happy to know that Heath bars are safe for them to indulge in this Halloween.

Price: $11.88 (10.2 oz bag)

Shop Now

When it comes to Butterfinger, the gluten-free options are more specific. Gluten-free Butterfinger candies include the fun size, singles, and share packs. Butterfinger options that aren’t gluten-free are the giant bars, seasonal shapes, bites, minis, and cups.

Price: $14.99 (17.8 oz bag)

Shop Now

Rolo chocolate caramel candies are gluten-free—unless they are the mini varieties. If you want to be sure you’re stocking up on a gluten-free option, look for the individually wrapped and regular-sized varieties.

Price: $24.60 (pack of 36)

Shop Now

Jump for joy! Here’s another classic candy bar that is also gluten-free. This chocolate bar is the perfect choice for coconut lovers who also happen to be avoiding gluten.

Price: $8.94 (11.3 oz bag)

Shop Now

Similar to Almond Joy, Mounds contain coconut and chocolate—but they omit the almonds. (“Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t.”) That makes Mounds a potential option for nut-free environments, and they also happen to be gluten-free. However, if you have a nut allergy always check the label to make sure a product has not been processed in a facility or on the same equipment used to manufacture nut-containing products.

Nut-free candies:

Price: $8.99 (3 pack)

Shop Now

An old school candy, Smarties (and Smarties wafers) are gluten- and peanut-free.

Enjoy Life Halloween Variety Chocolates

Price: $26.99 (pack of 4)

Shop Now

Enjoy Life might be the safest option for children with allergies. Enjoy Life chocolates don’t contain gluten, but they also sidestep 14 other allergenic substances. That means they’re safe for almost all kids. Learn the 7 signs your child could have a food sensitivity.

Enjoy Life Ricemilk Crunch

Price: $16.75 (18 bars)

Shop Now

Satisfyingly crunchy and gluten-free, these mini chocolate bars are individually wrapped and ready to hand out on Halloween night.

Price: $25.92 (pack of 36)

Shop Now

Whether you choose the original or chewy variety, both are gluten-free.

Price: $9.20 (pack of 3)

Shop Now

A classic candy, Pixy Stix are gluten-free. Buy a variety pack and get four different flavors kids will love.

Price: $20.01 (8 lb box)

Shop Now

AirHeads come in a variety of individually wrapped flavors and sizes. In addition to being gluten-free, AirHeads are also free of other top allergens. Did you know these 9 common foods are responsible for most food allergies?

Price: $7.88 (72 snack-size packs)

Shop Now

Chewy and fruity, these Mike and Ikes come individually packaged in small snack sizes making it a great candy for gluten-free Halloween trick-or-treating.

Price: $10.52 (54 oz party-size bag)

Shop Now

Each individually wrapped, and with 4 flavors to choose from, Starbursts are a gluten-free and fruity Halloween candy. These are the gluten-free foods nutritionists swear by.

Price: $24.85 (5 lb bag)

Shop Now

Skittles come in a few different flavor varieties, such as regular, tropical, and sour, and are often found in the individually wrapped fun size packages. They are gluten- and nut-free.

Price: $10.92 (48 oz bag)

Shop Now

Always individually wrapped, gluten-free, and nut-free, Laffy Taffy (and the jokes on the wrappers) have become a Halloween staple. Here are some more Halloween treats that are allergen-free.

Price: $16.69 (12.6 oz bag)

Shop Now

Definitely a nostalgic candy, Jelly Belly comes in almost too many flavors to count. They’re not only gluten-free, but also vegetarian, dairy-free, and peanut-free.

Price: $13.62 (80 count bag)

Shop Now

Gluten-free fruity lollipops filled with a chewy Tootsie Roll center, Tootsie Pops are the world’s number one selling candy-filled lollipop. Did you know there’s a grain-free bread—and that it’s delicious?

  • “When I was going through university, I was exhausted, ALL the time. I had to drag myself out to hang out with friends, and if I had it my way I would have spent most days in bed sleeping. It was not unknown for me to sleep 12-16 hours a day. Call me crazy, but I related it all to the busy-ness of school. I was even checked for anemia at one point (common with celiacs) and I was ‘fine.’
  • The symptoms continued through school and the brain fog was undeniable. I distinctly remember during my dietetic internship (like a medical residency except everything is nutrition based) at Kelowna General Hospital sitting in the office, charting on a patient and, literally, feeling like my brain was so fuzzy that I could barely keep my eyes from nodding off. It was awful.
  • Another thing I didn’t pay much attention to, was bowels. I was always constipated. Never the other way around. Never. And, I also remember mentioning this to my gastroenterologist just before the endoscopy and he said ‘oh, well with your very low antibody levels and constipation, there is a very low chance that you are actually celiac but we will proceed with the endoscopy since you’re prepped and ready to go.’
  • The piece of paper I received after the endoscopy said to follow up with my GP. I did follow up with my GP and the report came back positive for celiac disease. My GP said “well, you’re celiac. But, you’re a dietitian, right, so this should be easy for you!”
  • Perhaps I had a leg up in the nutrition part of it, but I think we all know that the gluten free diet is not a walk in the park. And, although, I am so appreciative of the medical care I received, it did open my eyes to the lack of knowledge within the medical community when it came to celiac disease and the lack of support offered to individuals with celiac disease.

That’s how Healthbean Nutrition was born!

Leave a comment at the bottom of the page.

  • *Information and perspectives posted on The Celiac Scene are intended to provide general information, without independent verification on the part of The Celiac Scene for the accuracy of the information provided to it. The information is specifically not intended to be a substitute for medical diagnosis or treatment by your physician or other health care professional. Always consult your own physician or other health care professionals about any medical questions, diagnosis, or treatment, especially before trying any diet. Healthbean Nutrition does not accept any liability for any injury, loss or damage incurred by use of or reliance on any content contained herein.

Gluten free candy 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *